The MOT test stands for Ministry of Transport test. It is an annual examination conducted for checking the safety of a vehicle, its on-road performance, efficiency, and its exhaust emissions as set by the government of UK. It is a test which is made compulsory by the country for any vehicle that is older than three years according to the Road Traffic Act 1988. This test does not apply to vehicles on the highway.

In the MOT test, the important parts of the vehicle are tested to see if they meet the set legal standards and check the roadworthiness of the car. This test is conducted against a checklist which increases the chances of the car passing the test efficiently. It includes various tests including brakes, fuel systems, lights, mirrors, seat belts, exhaust system, windscreen wipers, etc. With so many tests and set parameters, the chances of failure increases. The situation of your vehicle failing the MOT test is a very disheartening one, a total of about 37% of the drivers experience this situation. So what can you do in case of MOT failure?


If your vehicle fails the MOT test, the testing authority issues VT30 ‘Refusal of MOT Test Certificate’ to the driver. This certificate contains all the details of the car, the MOT test number which is a unique number issued by the testing authority, and the reasons why the vehicle did not pass the test.

New MOT rules were introduced in May 2018, according to which the risks and fault were divided into 3 categories- minor, major, and dangerous.

A minor issue means that there are still chances of your vehicle passing the MOT test and that the fault is not so risky and dangerous. Both major and dangerous issue imply an instant failure, but the latter category directly implies that it is no more legal for the vehicle to be on the road and the driver has to pay a penalty of £2,500 if he is caught driving on the road with the vehicle still having those defects.

Due to the more rigid implemented rules, the vehicles which fail the MOT test are considered to possess a threat towards the environment and on-road safety as well. If a vehicle fails the MOT test but the driver doesn’t think that there is anything wrong with his car, he can put an appeal for a re-evaluation or file a complaint to the Driver and Vehicle Standards Agency (DVSA).


Here is a list of some items which include all the items, which in case of failure, do not need to be paid for to get tested again:

  1. Bonnet

  2. Boot-lid

  3. Doors

  4. Drop-sides

  5. Fuel filler caps

  6. Horn

  7. Lamps

  8. Loading doors

  9. Mirrors

  10. Rear reflectors

  11. Seat

  12. Seatbelts

  13. Steering wheels

  14. Tailboard

  15. Vehicle identification number

  16. Windscreen and glass

  17. Windscreen washer and wipers


If the car has failed MOT, you should take the vehicle to some testing centre and get it checked because the car will need to meet the set standards of being roadworthy otherwise you might have to pay the penalty.

At Jackson MOT Northampton we cater to all your needs of getting an MOT test, right from booking an appointment to picking up and dropping off the car.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *